Ex-theists vs. all-time atheists

I felt the same way after I rejected the religion I was brainwashed to believe in. What a waste of time! How dare they indoctrinate me? After a while, though, I found a benefit: the ability to doubt myself and be critical. An atheist who grew up being an atheist never had the ultimate experience in self-doubt, which is going against God himself! This is how it felt, didn’t it? When you first began the process of enlightenment, it felt like you were challenging God, the ultimate sin. That took immense courage, intellectual honesty and humility to question cherished beliefs. You built character. You have mental scars. In my experience, there’s a great number of all-time atheists who lack that. They have limited critical ability and it just happened that they were atheists, otherwise they could’ve been followers of any cult, political ideology or herd. I’m an atheist, but so what? I don’t deserve a medal nor am I lucky just because of that. There’s plenty of atheists who stubbornly believe in illogical notions other than mainstream religion with the same, if not stronger, fanaticism and zeal one would expect from extremist theists. Being an atheist from birth proves nothing. Being an ex-theist, does. I’d trust you more.

2 thoughts on “Ex-theists vs. all-time atheists”

  1. As a child of atheist parents, I resent your groundless assertion that I lack character or the ability to critically analyse, based solely on an arbitrary promise. I do not claim to speak for all atheists in my position bu I have met some former theists who have exhibited exactly the same failings you have attributed to me -a stranger- based on an arbitrary variable that I had precisely no control over. I did not pick the religion of my parents any more than I chose my upbringing for the record, my father was brought up Methodist and swore he would not do that to me or my brother. That said, my parents were very much products of the 50s so I had my own dross to work through. Ex-theists do not hold the monopoly on tough upbringings or a sense of betrayal.

    Neither I did not grow up in an atheist bubble. I still had to consider exactly what it was I was rejecting and why. I still had to resist years pressure from my Christian peers and teachers who thought nothing of trying to push me into their own belief set and fit in because my recalcitrance made them uncomfortable. In the UK, under law, school children have to take part in at least one act of daily worship regardless of their own religious belief and my middle school had a weekly whole school hymn practice. I was just lucky that my parents HAD imparted tools to refute their claims. My own life as also not been lacking in trials, none of which I intend to go into further than I am a survivor of domestic violence which included coercive control.

    By generalising about lifetime atheists the way you have done, you are merely doing what theists do against all of us only you have added an extra level of division.

    Like

    1. Fair enough. However this is a strawman. Never did I say ‘all’. I used used expressions like ‘a great number of atheists’, if in not mistaken. I was only talking about them. I never generalized. You did.

      Like

Leave a Reply

